Homeless People

19 Sep

So today I was walking home along London Bridge. Now most day’s I always see two people, in the morning and in the evening. The big issue sellers. As I walked past “Eat” I saw the woman seller, looking up I noticed she had tears in her eye’s, my heart wrenched. What was I to do….I did what everybody else did, I pretended, like I do everyday with both of my regulars. I ignored them, pretending they weren’t there.

I hate that I feel like I can’t do anything for these people, I hate it even more that I just accept it as fact. I hate, I hate – more than anything that these people are like my colleagues, I see them everyday yet know next to nothing about them.

I hate myself for being conditioned to this outlook, I don’t want to be a city boy, I don’t want to be just another face in the crowd who can just walk on by and only focus on their own concerns.

I feel bad, I really do, even now I’m seeing those eye’s, the helplessness their – the empty hopelessness. Resigned to a life of near begging, living in the cold streets, beneath the bridge with only a small bag of belongings.
I wonder what has driven these people into the half-life. If how they live now is their best options then surely they really do have nothing left. We walk on by without even a good morning, a hello.

These poor people are not scum, they are not sub-human. They are people, who for some reason or other, which I don’t know. Have fallen on hard time’s.

There has to be something their though, they must want to push forward, to get back on their feet, else they wouldn’t be selling the Big Issue…..

2 Responses to “Homeless People”

  1. slightlyignorant 20 September, 2008 at 12:17 pm #

    Must be amazing living in London, one of the best cities in the world in my opinion…
    About the homeless issue though – there are things you can do if you really want to. Soup kitchens, homeless shelters – I’m sure there are lots that are short on volunteers. If you want to be in touch with these people and learn their stories and maybe help them a bit, then you can go and volunteer with them and see how they really are.

  2. homelessgirl 29 September, 2008 at 5:02 pm #

    I am so glad that you have sympathy for the homeless, so many people don’t care and think they are the scum of the earth. You have to think that there is something wrong for somebody to be experiencing less than life.
    I am experiencing the same thing right now. Even though I am currently of the streets I am still homeless. AND I have slept on the streets of London.
    I am glad that you feel something should be done and we are all guilty of turning a blind eye.

Leave a Reply

