I’ve got some friends, some that I hardly know….

4 Oct

I don’t know how many of you know the song – Swing life away, by Rise against. This has to be one of my favourite song’s of all times. It’s one of those songs that will always make you sad. I have loved this song for so many years, the lyrics are amazing as its simple and let’s face it, describes my outlook perfectly. Swing life away. Then there’s the sadness, the loss and the good memories. All rolled up into one. There was a time a few months ago when after a bottle of wine I was feeling emotional and listening to this song, I ended up calling the phillipines from a work mobile. Music can do that to me, it evokes those moments when you just need to chat to someone, just need to remember the good times. To make promises you wish you could keep but really, you never know.

It’s times like now where I miss so many people, I can’t listen to some thing’s without wanting to get on a plane or a train. Do something stupid, just to hang – just to feel the freedom, the happiness, the excitement.

One Response to “I’ve got some friends, some that I hardly know….”

  1. slightlyignorant 6 October, 2008 at 10:22 pm #

    Being far away from friends that are important to you is hard… I know the feeling. Still, I think songs like that are good for us – sometimes we need that extra push to really do something we’ve wanted to do for ages anyway.

Leave a Reply

