I condemn smokers

10 Dec

Oh the irony life teaches! Damn you!  I’ve always been a bit of an upper-class self indulged twonk with perpetuating believes and opposition to smokers.

I can’t stand the smell of cigarettes and I hate to see friends smoking because I know how much it is probably ruining their life’s. I have, like many tried cigarettes, joints and cigars. I was recently in a phase where after a bottle of wine I would consume a packet of cigars. The mellow smell and taste ad hear to me. Even the very idea of a cigar seems sophisticated and appealing.

So how can I be so judgemental to those who smoke cigarettes. When knowing if England was anything like the middle east with its Shisha Cafes it’s where I would be found most of the time. Mellow and slightly intoxicated with tobacco and fruit syrups. Mountain Dew being a preference and happily discussing life, politics and stupidity with any number of people. My English Witt and sarcasm forgotten.
The reason for this post is simple. I recently met a smoker who only smokes roll-ups. Walking to work this morning I really wanted a roll-up. There was no call for it, I admit – I had just walked past some smokers in disgust smelling the air and my clothes. My mind turned to a nice relaxing drag of a roll-up to swill in my mouth and like I smoke cigars – expel through my nose.

I was intoxicated and infatuated by the smell, both that lingering on breath and after each pull floating in the air.

Life is cruel to taunt me so, to show the stupidity of my inconsistencies and the conflicting thoughts and believes I express.

Bookmark and Share

8 Responses to “I condemn smokers”

  1. Leeds Hotels 10 December, 2008 at 2:50 pm #

    Did I get it right……you’re struggling with stopping smoking that’s why you hate smokers??..heh…maybe just me not clearly understanding myself here.. ;p I don’t like it either when I even see a stick of cigarette. Such a stick or disaster!

  2. Alex Towler 10 December, 2008 at 3:05 pm #

    I’ve never been a smoker but I seem to have this weird attraction to tobacco. I hate the smell and affect of cigarettes but I realise that I like pure tobacco or shisha (Flavoured tobacco). Its ironic and conflicting that I can look down on smokers but often feel like I want just one pull to feel the light headed calming effects

  3. slightlyignorant 10 December, 2008 at 7:21 pm #

    Haha, Alex, I know how you feel. Cravings are odd things. I actually love the smell of cigarettes, though I don’t often admit it, so I can understand how you’d suddenly feel like a rollup even though you don’t normally smoke.

  4. chloé 11 December, 2008 at 3:47 am #

    🙂 i really like the way you right, how you describe the world around you. my girlfriends english & her accent always gets me smiling & i can image yours would be rather similar
    sophisticated & proper
    nice.

    my boyfriend smokes rolled-up cigarattes, the smell is less intoxicating than cigarettes you can buy from the shops
    & it often gets people looking like; is that a cigarette or something else, lol.

    however, i’m not a smoker myself, yes i’ve tried it again & again lol
    i have this thing for chocolate flavoured & scented cigarettes, they always make me want one

    • Alex Towler 11 December, 2008 at 1:34 pm #

      Sophisticated and proper? hehe I wish – im from South-East London/Kent so I probably have some kind of southern drool. Plus I don’t speak the way I think and write – most of the people I know would never understand me so I have to dumb it down.

      I don’t know what it is about the smell of tobacco that is so intoxicatingly attractive but there you have it – maybe I’m developing an addiction. Even now I’m thinking about how much I want one.

      Chocolate flavoured cigarettes? heheh that sounds a little silly – just eat some chocolate surely?

  5. Tony 12 December, 2008 at 10:44 pm #

    I quit smoking 13 years ago & now like you I can’t stand the smell of them. I can’t believe I used to smell like that. It was hard breaking the addiction but now I know it’s the best decision I ever made.

  6. Tony 12 December, 2008 at 10:45 pm #

    P.S. I enjoyed reading through you blog so much I have chosen you as my “Random Blog Of The Week”
    Cheers from Tasmania

  7. Alex Towler 12 December, 2008 at 11:13 pm #

    Tony – first off, well done on quitting. Its got to be one of the ardest things to do.

    I just clicked onto your blog and saw me right at the top. THank you so much I am honoured. I cryed with laughter and the picture with your dog sitting on the box waiting for the kennel to be made. You’ve made my day

Leave a Reply

