The weekend

9 Mar

The weekend is over and it has been a long and exciting – interesting time. I had Thursday and Friday off of work so it was very nice to have a break.

I didn’t mention in my previous post but I passed my driving test on Thursday (Finally) a huge relief and a huge pressure from my shoulders. It means I can now legally drive in Aus if I want to 😀 – Yipppeeeeee!!!!

I am slightly saddened by this thought now. I don’t like to say goodbye and I know now that it is likely to be even harder. I have a new friend 😀 and I realise now that all the months of silent brooding and solitude have done me the world of good. I am no longer feeling scared, possessive or paranoid. I know now that it’s easiest to be honest – jealousy can be a good thing and being open and frank if your upset or happy must be the right thing. I have learnt not to try to be someone else and to not lose myself into ideals, fantasies and dreams.

So after Thursdays success I was really looking forward to Friday – I went out for drinks with some old colleagues and had a wicked evening – nice and relaxed and generally good fun, meeting up in the unlikeliest of places with G and walking along the Beach of the Thames drawing more pictures until we reached a pub that seemed a good place to stop. That evening progressed until I ended up back at mine – feeling slightly drunk and crashing out around midnight. Knowing I had work in the morning my body kept shouting at me until finally, 2 am I woke up, stumbled to the kitchen and drained a pint of water before falling back to sleep.

Saturday was another interesting, strange day – It started off with me putting on a tie – An unusual occurrence at the best of times and going off to be an RA at one of our work branches – this is a new job that I’m doing on the odd Saturday. I need the money and the experience of temp-in and so there I was – thrown in at the deep end and panicking because nothing was working and I had had no real training. But no worries because I soon got the hang of everything and after some stressed out freaking phone calls I managed find my feet and the day went swimmingly – I felt in my element and honestly really enjoyed most of the day – except the monotony of sitting still – waiting and watching for patients. Hoping that the gentleman coming up the stairs was not a patient because your doctor already has 3 of them waiting. Fun though.

Saturday evening was nice as well. Pizza, wine and movies. – Met a new friend by the name of Nelson

Nelson

Nelson

Who we took for a walk and silly fun on Sunday to see some of his friends in Trafalgar square.

Overall, things are looking up and it was nice to have a break. For once my Blog posts doesn’t seem to have any undertones of thoughtfulness or sadness or anything negative. It’s a post that says I had a nice weekend with a girl and a stuffed pigeon.

4 Responses to “The weekend”

  1. uninvoked 9 March, 2009 at 8:02 pm #

    Hey, you made a comment on someones blog provocative enough to make having a peek at your blog worth while. Congratulations on your driver’s license. I understand the feeling of relief.

    Have fun with your…um…stuffed pigeon. Yeah…

  2. slightlyignorant 9 March, 2009 at 10:19 pm #

    When are you going to Aus do you think?
    I’m glad you had a good weekend, Alex, you deserve to be able to relax a bit.
    Poor Nelson though – there aren’t as many of his friends in Trafalgar Square now that they don’t allow food vendors to set up there…

  3. chloë 10 March, 2009 at 1:27 am #

    congrats on getting your independence 🙂
    you’ll feel like a new man

    it’s good to read your weekend was nice, you do deserve to be happy too
    i like the pigeon ; did you make it yourself(?)

  4. chloë 11 March, 2009 at 7:51 am #

    well a gift from a girl makes it all the more sweeter

Leave a Reply

