Acceptance of foriegn culture

9 May
Italy 3
Italy 3

I have recently returned from visiting Italy with little Floperv and have once again found myself in a situation several times feeling very frustrated and aggressive. The reason being that I am still English and with that comes a natural nature to Que. To be polite and to generally try to be pleasant to people. What I experienced in Italy was a very near opposite of these basic ideals I tend to live by. My blood began to boil and whilst waiting in the que for the plane I began to have Italians forming up on my flanks, obviously waiting to step in front of me or to step into the que at any moment. My hand was shaking and from nowhere came this beast, ready to fling burning coffee into everyone’s faces. It was only the calming influence of my company that saved the blister’s from the Italian buggers.

What I am curious of clearly is if really this was an act of aggression from a misunderstanding or intollerance of anothers culture or are they just rude buggers who need a slap. What really constitutes intollerance?

And now for some pictures I took whilst in Italy. Enjoy

4 Responses to “Acceptance of foriegn culture”

  1. slightlyignorant 9 May, 2009 at 5:37 pm #

    Hey, I was wondering where you’ve been! Glad you’re back 🙂 The photos you took are really good. I love the black and white one of the couple with the wheelchair especially.
    Gosh, you’d better not come to Israel, then… People here don’t know the meaning of lines, they just shuffle ahead and try to push in front of each other. It’s disgusting. You know how when the ice-cream truck pulls in front of a school? So here, when that happens, parents actually TELL their kids to push and shove so they can get their ice-cream and go already. Blah.
    I get your frustration about this though – I get the same reaction when I need to deal with this kind of behavior. Hope you had fun on your trip despite that!

  2. chloë 17 May, 2009 at 2:49 pm #

    italy doesn’t sound overly inviting from what you’ve said 😦
    i think aussie are somewhere in between being, polite & rude haha
    the photo’s are great though alex 🙂

  3. cindydyer 20 May, 2009 at 4:33 pm #

    Hi Alex, I know exactly what you’re talking about. I was in Rome several years ago…right around the time they were on the manhunt for Andrew Cunanan, who had killed Versace. I thought maybe the Italians were made at all Americans at that time and that’s why they were so short and rude in all the shops we went in. Apparently, by what you wrote, they’re like that at other times, too. I was shopping in one store, looking at a stack of sweaters, and the clerk just pushed me out of the way to add to the stock. No “excuse me” in Italian (or English)…nothing. I was so surprised that I left without purchasing anything. We found that in several retail stores. Then again, maybe they just hate their jobs?

    • Alex Towler 21 May, 2009 at 8:01 pm #

      I don’t think all italians are that bad (my GF’s italian) but I think when you are talking about a race or genre then stereotypes tend to be correct.

      So stereotyping italians I’ll mention once again that the language does not have a word that means the same thing as “Que” if the word doesn’t exist how can there be even a basic understanding of a concept

Leave a Reply

