A Follow-up, Corruption….stats

9 Sep

Just a quick short follow up post to “Corruption by Stats” – So after looking this morning it appears to have not made any difference. As was commented – It’s a conscious effort not to add a million tags that have by slight chance any relevance to the post in a bid to push visits.

Suddenly I am almost top in Google, that’s a strange feeling, put in my name and the 2nd,3rd,4th,5th and 9th results are directly related, managed, or written by me. So much for the anonymity of the Internet.

Google results, mistress of temptation

Google results, mistress of temptation

Now it seems is another enemy. Is there a pressure out there to, like in real life – be heard. Do you need to push and push until your at the top of Google on a particular tag. Personally I don’t feel that need, yet. But it could happen and that’s scary. We already have to fight to be heard, against the commotion, the background noise of modern living.

Even then, when we take ourselves out of this situation. When our writing is raw but our voice is shared. Our opinions and feelings are out there to the masses. We are again faced with temptation and pressures to be something, to be someone and again are we pulled back into the rat race.

I think I may have a solution though. Music. Here’s a simple setting. Rush hour, London bridge, all the suits and ties are flooding across the bridge in their pin striped suits. Obviously the most important people out their and nothing is going to stop them. If you read any of the free evening newspapers over here in good ‘ole London (UK). You may have noticed a few columns by a snotty, self absorbed arrogant writer going by the alias of “City Boy” a pompous fool constantly trying to push for people to buy his book where he claims to “Dish the Dirt, on Square Mile.” I’m paraphrasing but I’m sure you can understand what I mean.

OK the point here – I’m not like that. I refuse to be just like everyone else, head down, bowed against the rain. Thoughts on hard work, money and bloody Blackberries. So, put in your earphones, listen to good music and be happy. Bounce along the bridge so when there’s a particularly poignant and bouncy bit you can Double Step, side step and wiggle your way past the rat race.

Unless you have your priorities straight you can never be happy. Money may be important but its not top of my list. Family and friends sit there, as I may have said before – everything is just a way point till I can settle with my children. Teach them about the world and sharing my experiences and fun. Leaving a little legacy of my own to roam the Earth making a mark, here and there, subtly changing thousands of lives for the better. – Power trip?

5 Responses to “A Follow-up, Corruption….stats”

  1. national insurance Number appointment 28 July, 2014 at 8:59 pm #

    What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely helpful and it
    has helped me out loads. I hope to give a contribution &
    aid different customers like its helped me. Great job.

  2. 1 Off gatorade Coupons 31 July, 2014 at 3:08 am #

    This paragraph will assist the intefnet users foг building սp new webpage or even a blog from
    start tο еnd.

  3. special k store coupons 3 August, 2014 at 8:45 am #

    Good day! Do you knoԝ if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid ɑbout losing еverything I’ve workeԁ hard on.
    Any suggestions?

  4. 12bet.com 6 October, 2016 at 3:32 pm #

    I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this sort
    of space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this website.
    Studying this info So i am satisfied to express that I’ve an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I found
    out just what I needed. I so much for sure will make certain to don?t omit this web site and
    provides it a glance regularly.

  5. New proxies For myspace 3 June, 2017 at 5:24 pm #

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for
    your site. You have some really great posts and I feel I would be a good asset.

    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d
    really like to write some articles for your blog in exchange for
    a link back to mine. Please send me an email if interested.
    Many thanks!

Leave a comment